Moments with Tawela Twala Ngambi

Posted: February 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

This young lady grew up on the coastline of Port Elizabeth, and moved to Cape Town early in her childhood. Most of you have fallen in love with her voice via the airwaves on 94.5 Kfm, and some have seen her face on FR!KA’s SALSA hair range . At the age of 22 this tall and very lovely young lady has done a lot of tremendous work, and one of her recent jobs was that she has been scooped is being the new host for the lunch show at KFM.
Coming from a family of academics, she made sure that she was covered,  before going to explore her love for radio. She is currently on sabbatical from UCT, where she is studying architecture.

I am talking about the dark beauty that is Tawela Twala Ngambi.

We got to sit down with her and got to know her a little better, and this is how it went.

1517593_746657968694938_610813483_n

Who is Twala?

*raises her perfectly manicured hand* uhm, that would be me, on a serious note I’m just a simple girl from next door. I love my family and the people that surround me and support me on the daily, and as much as I love shopping, I’m just a simple girl at heart.

How was Twala’s childhood?

As a child I was tall and skinny, a bit awkward. Hahaha! I had a tomboy look going on, and loved skate boarding. I’m just a little different now.

When did your love for radio start?

In primary school I guess, we had to be in bed by 7:30 I wasn’t much of a reader so I’d just lay there and listen to the radio

We know that you’re not just a radio host, what else do you do?

Well I am big sister first of all *hahaha!*, I am a student, I design, I’m a radio host, model, and I draw a lot.

Which one is your first love?

Wow that’s a tough one to answer; I mean it’s like asking a mother to pick out her favour child, I Love them all, they all play a part in making me who I am.

1003053_10151891984497253_422300874_n

KFM just recently announced that you are the new lunch host, how did you react to the news?

Well it still feels surreal to me, I pinch myself every day. I haven’t had time to let it all sink in yet. I heard that they were considering me for the job last year in December, and I fell off my chair. Literally LOL!

How does it feel to take over from Elana?

It is such an honour to host lunch, and damn scary at the same time.

Most memorable time on radio

Well rumour has it that there was that one time that I apparently fell off the chair while I was on air!!!  Just for the record I didn’t fall I was just testing gravity…. It still works

What inspires you?

The people I get to work with on an everyday basis, their craziness and greatness inspires me. Everybody has a story to tell which inspires me to be more than what I am.

photoCAVIHUST

One thing that we don’t know about you

I play tennis

Bad habit

Jelly beans, I even eat them in a colour coordinated order and no I don’t eat the red ones. Hahaha!

Guilty pleasure

Jelly beans!!! Uhm, I mean shoes, handbags, and more shoes and more shoes… did I mention shoes?

What do you do in your spare time?

Other than spending my life at the tennis court, I love going shopping for shoes and handbags. Hahaha! Just kidding, I try to spend as much time as I can with my family.

What can we expect from you in 2014?

More instagram photos (do the right thing and follow me @iamTwala). LOL!

Last words to your supporters

Thanks for the support, and for waking up with me every weekend in 2013. Hope you keep supporting me as much as you did, let’s do lunch together this year.

1380535_10151709453267253_657279643_n

Twala is LIVE on 94.5 KFM every Monday to Friday from 12:00pm – 15:00pm.

You can catch up with her on:

Twitter: @iamTwala #LunchWithBarbie #BarbiesDoesLunch

Facebook: Twala Tawela Ngambi

Leave a Reply

